Nudzejma

Capture d’écran 2020-05-29 à 14.27.24.

In Sarajevo, the capital of Bosnia, Nudzejma has found strength, happiness and excitement in sport.

Nudzejma's early life was marked by the war in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Her father, an imam, was tragically killed during the clashes between the Christians, the Orthodox and the Muslims. Her mother remains deeply scarred by her exodus to Croatia. She met her second husband, also very religious, in a refugee camp. From her parents, Nudzejma received a strict religious education but from which she also learnt the values that today shape her struggle: among other things, access to equality between men and women, in all fields of life, and this in the respect of their religious beliefs.

 

She feels that she has lost enough years of her life, between the war and the refugee camps, to be subjected to a life imposed onto her by others. Overcoming her status of victim, Nudzejma decided to regain control of her destiny and live her life as she decided.

Alongside her job as a proof-reader for Al Jazeera Balkans, Nudzejma discovered running, and by the same token the medium she would use to meet others: sport.

 

In 2017, after only 6 months of training, she entered the Belgrade Marathon and became the first woman to complete the 42.195 Km course in a hijab.

Beyond her impressive physical performance, Nudzejma ran for her values, a commitment to her vision of "doing things together" and equality. The pleasure she got from the effervescence of a sports collective made her want to create her own association.

In 2017, with her distinctive enthusiasm and dynamism, she created her running club, T.I.T.O. (which translates as ‘Running and many other things’). It is open to Serbs, Croats and Bosnians alike, despite the tensions that still persist between these three communities.

 

Her charisma influences those around her. Vedran, a Catholic, used to be afraid of Muslims. As a result of his war traumas, he led an unhealthy life and came close to suicide. Very quickly, thanks to running and Nudzejma, he managed to change his life view and perspective and stopped being afraid. Smiling, at peace and having shed nearly 50 kilos, Vedran has a new taste for life.

 

Building on her leadership skills, Nudzejma impresses, "She's everywhere!  She does everything!”, and pursuing her slogan "Dare to dream", she organised the first ever fast triathlon in Bosnia, that took place August 18th, 2019. It was the first sporting event in Bosnia created by a woman, bringing together 160 men and women of all faiths from 9 different countries.

 

Building on her achievements, Nudzejma keeps going, ever onwards, her head held high.

Do you want to follow Nudzejma's activities ?

Nudzejma

Capture d’écran 2020-05-29 à 14.27.24.

À Sarajevo, capitale de la Bosnie, Nudzejma a découvert la force, le bonheur, l’exaltation dans le sport. 

Le début de la vie de Nudzejma est marqué par la Guerre en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

 

Son père, imam, a été tragiquement tué durant les combats qui ont opposés chrétiens, orthodoxes et musulmans. Sa mère reste aujourd’hui encore très marquée par son exode en Croatie. C’est dans un camp de réfugiés qu’elle rencontrera son second mari, très religieux lui aussi. De ses parents, Nudzejma reçoit une éducation religieuse stricte mais aussi des valeurs qui aujourd’hui modèlent ses combats : entre autres l’accès à l’égalité entre hommes et femmes, quel que soit le secteur, et ce, dans le respect de leur religion.

 

Elle considère qu’elle a perdu assez d’années de sa vie entre la guerre et les camps de réfugiés, à subir la vie que d’autres lui imposaient. Dépassant alors son statut de victime, Nudzejma décide de reprendre le contrôle de son destin et de vivre sa vie comme elle l’entend. 

 

À côté de son poste de correctrice à Al Jazeera Balkans, Nudzejma découvre la course à pied et par la même occasion le vecteur qu’elle utilisera pour aller à la rencontre de l’autre : le sport.

En 2017, elle s’inscrit au marathon de Belgrade et devient la première femme à venir à bout des 42,195 Km en hijab, et ce, après seulement 6 mois d’entrainement.

 

Au-delà de la performance physique impressionnante, Nudzejma court pour ses valeurs, elle s’engage pour la vision qu’elle défend du « faire ensemble » et de l’égalité. Le plaisir qu’elle trouve dans l’effervescence d’un collectif sportif lui donne l’envie de créer sa propre association.

Avec la fougue et le dynamisme qui la caractérise, elle crée son club de course à pied en 2017, T.I.T.O. (qui pourrait se traduire par Courir et plein d’autres choses), ouvert aux Serbes, aux Croates et aux Bosniaques, et ce, malgré la tension qui règne encore entre ces trois communautés. 

 

Son charisme impacte ceux qui la côtoient. Vedran, catholique, avait peur des musulmans. Suite aux traumas encourus durant la guerre, il mène une vie malsaine et est proche du suicide. Très rapidement, grâce à la course et à Nudzejma, il réussit à changer de point de vue et à ne plus avoir peur. Souriant, apaisé et délesté d’une cinquantaine de kilos, Vedran est un homme qui retrouve aujourd’hui le goût de vivre.

 

Développant son leadership, Nudzejma impressionne, « Elle est partout ! Elle fait tout ! », et suivant son slogan « Dare to dream» elle a organisé le 18 août 2019 le premier fast triathlon en Bosnie. C’est le premier évènement sportif créé par une femme en Bosnie réunissant 160 hommes et femmes, de toutes confessions, originaires de 9 pays. 

 

Forte de ses réussites, Nudzejma poursuit sa course la tête haute. 

Vous voulez suivre les actions de Nudzejma ?