Brookville Multifaith Campus

nous-tous_1.612.1.jpg

In response to a declining congregation, the Protestant church in Brookville, Long Island, needed to find a solution to meet the financial burden of continuing to use the building as a place of worship. In 2006, it decided to rent-out the church to a Jewish community, so that the building could also be used as a synagogue, and then to a Muslim community, to also use it as a centre for the study of the Koran.

 

But this landlord-tenant relationship, under the impetus of three unorthodox clergies, quickly turned into a life-changing adventure for these religious leaders as well as their congregations from three different faiths.

Doctor Sultan, Rabbi Stuart and Reverend Vicky, who may from the outside look like they conform to type, are in fact three rebels who share a boundless respect and curiosity for each other's spirituality, at the risk of upsetting their respective hierarchies. Together, they seek to promote understanding of the other, the exchange of experiences, the building of lasting peace and a voluntary commitment to common service. Each group maintains its own religious identity, but fosters an open environment for transmitting, learning, celebrating and honouring each religion. 

It is on this campus that they welcome and guide, in particular, inter-faith couples, but also couples from the LGTBQ community.

Do you want to follow Brookville campus’s activities ?

Le campus multiconfessionnel de Brookville

nous-tous_1.612.1.jpg

Poussée par la diminution de ses fidèles, l’église protestante de Brookville dans le Long Island devait trouver une solution pour faire face aux charges financières liées à l’entretien du bâtiment. Elle décide en 2006, de louer l’église à une communauté juive pour que l’édifice soit aussi une synagogue et ensuite à une communauté musulmane pour en faire un centre d’étude du Coran.

 

Mais cette relation bailleur-preneur, sous l’impulsion d’un clergé peu orthodoxe, s’est vite transformée en une aventure de vie tant pour les leaders religieux que pour les fidèles des trois religions.

Le Docteur Sultan, le Rabbin Stuart et la Révérende Vicky, sous des dehors de conformité, sont en fait trois rebelles qui partagent un respect et une curiosité sans borne pour la spiritualité de l’autre au risque de fâcher leurs hiérarchies respectives. Ensemble, ils cherchent à promouvoir la compréhension de l’autre, l’échange d’expériences, la construction d’une paix durable et un engagement bénévole au service commun. Chaque groupe maintient sa propre identité religieuse, mais favorise un environnement ouvert pour transmettre, apprendre, célébrer et honorer chaque religion. 

 

C’est au sein de ce campus qu’ils accueillent et guident notamment les couples multiconfessionnels, mais aussi les couples issus de la communauté LGTBQ.

Vous voulez suivre les actions du campus de Brookville ?