Léa

Capture d’écran 2020-05-29 à 15.17.11.

In the north of Lebanon, in the centre of the capital, Tripoli, two neighbourhoods, separated by one street and connected by a few stairways, have been waging a fratricidal war for many years.

 

This conflict, born out of the Lebanese war and the Syrian occupation, has deeply scarred this once-united suburb.  The split arose between those for and against the Syrian regime along confessional lines: Alawites in the Jabal Mohsen neighbourhood, Sunnis in that of Bab al Tebbeneh.

Lea comes from Beirut, she is a Christian. She was working as a manager at Deloitte, but decided to leave this prestigious position, and move to Tripoli to create a cultural centre and an association called MARCH, right on the dividing line between the two neighbourhoods.

Why did this young woman, a native of Beirut and a Christian, undertake to help overcome yesterday's conflicts by rebuilding these destroyed neighbourhoods and reconnecting the Alawite and Sunni inhabitants?

 

After having received a very bourgeois education (Prestigious Business Schools - AUB & HEC-, piano & dance lessons ...), today Lea rejects this elitism in an effort to give new meaning to her life. In 2011, she created the association MARCH that fights against censorship and promotes equality for all communities in Lebanon. In 2015, MARCH innovated by bringing the youths of Jabal Mohsen and Bab al Tebbeneh together on a theatre stage.

This initiative was a resounding success. The association then decided to open a first citizen's café, right on the demarcation line between the neighbourhoods. This café, called "Kahwetna" has become a meeting place for these young people, who have managed to accept and overcome their religious differences. Getting to know each other helped them realise they had been puppets for the politicians and that there were more things that brought them together than that set them apart.

 

It is with the same dynamism that, in 2016, Lea went on to launch the "Bab el-Dahab" project: a vast project to rehabilitate the neighbourhood by renovating and re-opening all the abandoned shops.

Those around her wonder how she is able to deal with people who have held weapons and may have killed people? Lea makes the choice not to judge them. She believes deeply that human beings can be led, in certain circumstances, to do many things. She goes towards these men and women who not so long ago were at war, and gets to know them, their names, their faces, their stories...For above all, they are human beings to be discovered.

 

Through the "Bab el-Dahab" project, the association provides training in construction for men and graphic design for women. Together, they apply their knowledge to give a new face to the rue de Syrie, the old dividing line between Jabal Mohsen and Bab al Tebbeneh.

It is not only the shops that the association is restoring, but also the connections between the inhabitants, Sunnis and Alawites alike. It offers them a professional and social future, far from any religious and sectarian considerations.

Do you want to follow Lea's activities ?

Léa

Capture d’écran 2020-05-29 à 15.17.11.

Au nord du Liban, dans le centre de Tripoli, deux quartiers séparés par une rue et reliés par quelques  escaliers, se livrent une guerre fratricide depuis de nombreuses années.

 

Ce conflit, né lors de la guerre du Liban et de l'occupation syrienne, a laissé des blessures profondes entre ces faubourgs autrefois unis. Ils se sont fracturés entre pro et anti régime syrien sur une ligne confessionnelle : alaouites, dans le quartier de Jabal Mohsen, sunnites dans celui de Bab al Tebbeneh.

 

Léa vient de Beyrouth, elle est chrétienne. Anciennement manager chez Deloitte, elle quitte ce poste prestigieux pour créer, sur la ligne de démarcation entre les deux quartiers, un centre culturel et son association « March ».

Pourquoi cette jeune femme, originaire de Beyrouth et de confession chrétienne, tente-t-elle d’effacer les conflits d’hier pour reconstruire les quartiers détruits et retisser les liens entre ses habitants alaouites et sunnites ? 

 

D’une éducation bourgeoise (grandes écoles -AUB & HEC-, apprentissage du piano, de la danse …), Léa rejette aujourd’hui cet élitisme pour donner un sens à sa vie. En 2011, elle crée l’association MARCH qui lutte contre la censure et promeut l’égalité de toutes les communautés du Liban. C’est en 2015 que MARCH innove en réunissant sur une scène de théâtre la jeune génération de Jabal Mohsen et de Bab al Tebbeneh.

C’est un vrai succès. L’association décide alors d’ouvrir le premier café citoyen, sur la ligne de démarcation. Ce café, baptisé "Kahwetna" est aujourd'hui un lieu de rencontres pour ces jeunes qui ont réussi à accepter et surmonter leurs différences religieuses. Ils ont réalisé qu'ils ont été les marionnettes des politiques et qu’il y avait entre eux davantage de raisons de se rapprocher que de s'opposer. 

C’est avec le même dynamisme que Léa lance en 2016 le projet « Bab el-Dahab » : un vaste projet de réhabilitation du quartier par la rénovation des commerces. 

 

Son entourage s’interroge : comment traiter avec des gens qui ont tenu des armes et qui ont peut-être tué quelqu’un ? Léa décide de ne pas les juger, elle croit profondément que l’être humain peut être amené, dans certaines circonstances à faire beaucoup de choses. Elle part à la rencontre de ces hommes et femmes qui se battaient avant : ils ont des prénoms, des visages, des histoires, ils sont avant toute autre chose des êtres humains à découvrir. 

 

Par le projet « Bab el-Dahab », l’association dispense des formations liées à la construction pour les hommes et au graphisme pour les femmes. Ensemble, ils mettent en oeuvre leurs connaissances pour offrir un nouveau visage à la rue de Syrie, ancienne ligne de démarcation entre Jabal Mohsen et Bab al Tebbeneh.

 

Ce n’est pas seulement des boutiques que l’association rénove, mais également les liens entre tous les habitants, sunnites et alaouites. Elle leur offre un avenir professionnel et social éloigné de toute considération religieuse ou communautaire.

Vous voulez suivre les actions de Léa ?