Dr. Jamal

Photo 4.png

Since the start of the war in Syria, in 2012, nearly 1.5 million Syrians have fled the conflict in their country for Lebanon. To accommodate them, refugee camps have been set up, but the living conditions are very precarious.

In Lebanon, debates around the acceptance of refugees are explosive. In addition to religious and cultural tensions, the economic and social load they represent are perceived by a large section of the population as an unacceptable burden. Today, a vast majority of Lebanese people openly express their frustration and anger at this situation, which is seen by many as an invasion.

But there are many Lebanese associations that help these refugees. One of these associations is the Order of Malta. This Christian and apolitical humanitarian agency has for sole objective to protect the dignity of each human being while respecting his or her differences.

Doctor Jamal Ismail, a Shiite doctor, has been involved with the Order of Malta for more than 25 years. These days, he travels from camp to camp in the Bekaa Plain to provide care for Sunni Syrian refugees.

Doctor Jamal works tirelessly to provide care for his patients: 12 hours a day, at an age when many yearn for a quite retirement. His sense of duty is impressive. Doctor Jamal emanates a quiet strength, a strong presence, the kind that great doctors develop after many years of practice.

 

The only thing that matters to him is the need for care, regardless of wealth, religion or gender. If a person needs care, he will help them.

Doctor Jamal's very modest origins have undoubtedly shaped his outlook on others. In the destitute poor children of the camps, it is a his own childhood that he rediscovers.

Refusing to look at them from an exclusively political point of view, as is the case for a large part of the Lebanese population, Doctor Jamal no longer sees Syrians, Palestinians, Lebanese, Christians, Shiites or Sunnis, but only patients, human beings to be cared for and soothed.

 

Beyond the politics and tensions that run through the Arab world between Shiites and Sunnis, it is the human being that Doctor Jamal relates to through his work. His patients regain their dignity as women and men, who are listened to in their physical and psychological distress. And it is with pride that he speaks of the relationship of trust that exists between him and his patients.

Do you want to follow Dr. Jamal's activities ?

Dr. Jamal

Photo 4.png

Depuis le début de la guerre en Syrie en 2012, près d’1,5 millions de Syriens ont rejoint le sol libanais pour fuir les combats de leur pays. Pour les accueillir, des camps de réfugiés ont été montés, mais les conditions de vie y sont très précaires. 

 

Les débats autour de l’accueil des réfugiés, notamment au Liban, sont explosifs. Outre les tensions confessionnelles et de culture, la charge économique et sociale qu’ils représentent est perçue par une large frange de la population comme un fardeau. Aujourd’hui une vaste majorité de Libanais exprime ouvertement son mécontentement et son ras-le-bol face à cette situation vécue comme une invasion. 

 

De nombreuses associations libanaises viennent en aide aux réfugiés. Parmi ces associations, l’Ordre de Malte. Cette organisation humanitaire chrétienne et apolitique a pour unique objectif de protéger la dignité de chaque être humain, dans le respect de ses différences. 

 

Le Dr Jamal Ismaïl, de confession chiite, est médecin et a fait le choix de s’investir depuis plus de 25 ans auprès de l’Ordre de Malte. Il sillonne aujourd’hui la plaine de la Bekaa, de camps en camps pour amener des soins aux réfugiés syriens de confessions sunnites. 

 

Le Dr Jamal se donne sans compter pour soulager ses patients : 12 heures par jour, à un âge où beaucoup aspirent à leur pension, son sens du devoir impressionne. Il émane du Dr Jamal une force tranquille, une présence indéniable, de celle que savent développer les grands médecins après de nombreuses années de pratique. 

 

Seule la nécessité des soins prime pour lui, peu importe la richesse, la confession ou le sexe, si une personne a besoin de soins, il l’aidera.

Les origines très modestes du Docteur Jamal ont sans doute modelé son regard sur l’autre. Dans les enfants démunis et pauvres des camps, c’est un peu de sa propre enfance qu’il retrouve. 

 

Refusant de les considérer exclusivement sous un angle politique comme une large partie de la population libanaise, le Dr Jamal ne voit plus des Syriens, des Palestiniens, Libanais, chrétiens, chiites ou sunnites mais des patients, des humains à soigner et apaiser. 

 

Au-delà du politique et des tensions qui parcourent le monde arabe entre chiites et sunnites, c’est l’humain que le Dr Jamal rencontre grâce à son travail. Ses patients retrouvent la dignité de femmes et d’hommes écoutés et entendus dans leur détresse physique et psychique. Et c’est avec fierté qu’il raconte le lien de confiance qu’il a su créer avec eux.

Vous voulez suivre les actions du Dr Jamal ?